Chair Dave Sina: A New Dawn for Republicans in MN’s 4th Congressional District

The Sun rises on the Eastern side of St Paul, a view of the downtown from the Smith St bridge.

There is a new dawn for the Republicans of Minnesota’s 4th Congressional District with the election of a new Chair Dave Sina and Deputy Chair Karen Bauman.

The old regime of Jim Carson and Michelle Manke is gone and many of the former Vice Chairs and CD4 Secretary Tor Sorenson have met their term limit (they can serve 2 consecutive terms; a term is 2 years long).  Throughout the troubled administration of Jim Carson’s they showed no sense of leadership, nor proactive planning, and not extending an invitation to Republicans in St Paul after CD4 shut down the grassroots citywide caucus elected organization in 2014 without cause.  In fact they closed out their old Federal Elections Commission (FEC) account because the previous term that Jim Carson and former Chair Bev Aplikowski simply did not file reports to the FEC.  This was brought to the attention of the FEC by John Kysylyczyn (John K), who was elected in 2012 but was removed from office prior to the November 2012 Presidential Election, partly for filing against the former two chairs for failure to file FEC account reports.

The CD4 Convention on April 22, 2017 felt like a coronation ceremony for Jim Carson’s handpicked successor Michelle Manke.  Rules were ignored on the nomination of Vice Chairs, when the nominations were supposedly closed at 11 am.  At that time there were very few people who had signed up to be a Vice Chair.

As rocky as these conventions go the results were very welcome indeed.  The Executive Officers and Vice Chairs are almost completely brand new.  We expect a lot from them because in order to achieve one needs to aim higher than the current standards.

Ben Franklin during the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia in 1787 remarked to James Madison that he saw a sun on the horizon of the back of George Washington’s chair, saying:

  “I have often looked at that behind the president [president of the Constitutional Convention] without being able to tell whether it was rising or setting. But now I… know that it is a rising…sun.” — Ben Franklin at the Constitutional Convention of 1787.

It is a Rising Sun for the Republicans of Minnesota’s 4th Congressional District.

Here are the new Executive Officers of Minnesota’s 4th Congressional District

Chair  Dave Sina

Deputy Chair Karen Bauman

State Executive Vice Chair Tim Johnson (2nd term)

CD4 Secretary Kathy McCarthy

Vice Chairs (in no specific order)

Mike Batty

Jon Heyer (2nd term)

Mikki Murray

Charity Hayden

John Rheinberger

John Krenik (2nd term)




This entry was posted in St Paul + and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply